An October Monday

Wood Crafts, Primitives & other Fanciful Stuff ♥

Friggen Friday! & A Rope Swing

Leave a comment

It’s friggen Friday! (Does happy dance)  I am ready for the weekend, time to spend with my clan, crafting, gardening, and organizing my garage (yuck) it’s the one thing we did not do when we moved in… Sigh. But it must be done. What are your weekend plans?  I hope they have nothing to do with garage cleaning/organizing.  

I also want to thank everyone who stopped over and liked my Witchen in the Kitchen… I am busy working on some new crafts and I will be sharing them soon.  I am toying with the idea of starting an Etsy store… hmm what do you think? 

The days here are growing longer and warmer, we hit 86 once already.  With weather like this I am dreaming of lazy summer days spent with my kiddos, only 5 weeks of school to go!

Okay enough with the rambling time to share some poetry.  With all the warm weather and summer day dreams I thought I’d share a poem I wrote for my kids.  I hope you enjoy and have a wonderful weekend! 

 

A Rope Swing

By: Julie A. Eastin

Dedicated to my sweet children, Jacob, Kaleb and Evie

 

Through morns misty dew 

Hurried steps upon earthen path

Hand in hand and song in heart

Children’s laughter fills the air

Morning birds dart and fly

All with watchful eye

Shh… now not a peep

Mr. Snail slowly creeps

Seeking shelter in long grass

To rest and meet with slumber sweet

Scamper run be on your way

A cotton tail the bunny leaps

Back to burrow in meadow deep

Listen, listen do hear?

The softly babbling brook

Follow it down the stream

The swimming hole in sunlight gleams

See it swinging to and fro

A rope swing beckons from an Oak

You be Tom Sawyer

I’ll be Huck Finn

A race to see who’s first in

Splash!

Ripples cross the water dance

The goose shows much disdain

Honk and swiftly swims away

The children laugh splish and splash

What joy!

Such bliss!

Nothing could ever be…

As magical as a rope swing 

 

Rope Swing over the Crick courtesy of GeoLocation

Rope Swing over the Crick courtesy of GeoLocation

Leave a Reply

