An October Monday

Wood Crafts, Primitives & other Fanciful Stuff ♥

To Borrow from Brave…

Leave a comment

Happy Monday Wild Flowers!

Now don’t be so down, Monday is not a bad thing if we think of it as a fresh start to a week full of unknown adventures!  How was your weekend?  Mine was too fast!  But it was full of crafty things, frustration with Have You Seen Harry files (ugh!), Girl Scouts and just hanging out with me clan.

Today I thought I would start a new category for our wood projects, so I borrowed from my favorite Disney movie Brave and named it The Crafty Carver!  How I love the whimsical little crone and her cottage in the woods!

"BRAVE"

So let’s take a look at some of the crafty projects we worked on over the weekend.  As I mentioned before we are in the process of creating new artwork for our office, the theme medieval dragons.  So last week I spent some time pouring through photos of medieval woodcut designs, there are some great woodcuts and so many to choose from.  Somehow I managed to narrow it down to a few choices that the clan and me really liked.  So I set off to create the first piece for the office.

First creation for the office!

First creation for the office!

So there it is in 3 different stages of the process… Now I am trying to decide if I should add vibrant colors (normal for medieval period) or my beautiful sister-in-law suggested an antiquing/oil type of staining… What says you?  I’d love to hear some suggestions!  I really was hoping to work on my tarot table too but there were simply not enough hours in the weekend!

Now what was my handsome husband up too all this time?  Wood Work!  Lots and lots of it.  He managed to create 9 new wooden plaques for me to do artwork/pyrography  on, he made me a WONDERFUL crafting table on casters so I can roll to any location at home to work and he made himself a “feed” table/ work table for his table saw and shop (looks like my craft table just bigger).

My new craft table!

My new craft table!

So this is my craft table before a shelf for storage was added.  Today I will be painting the top black and adding a poly coat to the beautiful wood legs.  It is such an awesome piece he made just for me and I love it!  Once they are finished I will post pictures.

Okay, Wild Flowers my day calls to me so many projects to work on and as always never enough hours in the day!

That’s it! Ta-ta! Oh, and thank you for stopping by October Monday, we hope you’ll come back soon!

Leave a Reply

