An October Monday

Wood Crafts, Primitives & other Fanciful Stuff ♥

Ladies Beware Curves Shady Practices!

Leave a comment

Okay here’s the skinny (pun intended) on the Curves for Women located in Lodi CA…

I joined this gym (?) March of 2012 I did notice the facility was a little out dated and the staff seemed to be hands off.  But one of the reason I joined Curves was, I thought, the staff (trainers?) were suppose to work with you, encourage and be an active part of your membership., plus it was a place for women only so I joined, all good right?

Nope…

After going for only a month or two I hated it… It was old and so outdated the staff although pleasant really had no clue as to how to be a motivation or involved with the clients who were there.  Now I could have gone to my doctor and asked for a note, I have fibromyalgia , and canceled my contract, but because I signed a 1 year contract I believed I should honor it and lesson learned check out a place more thoroughly before signing a contract.  Good Karma right?

I was surprised that once I stopped coming  NO one called, emailed or mailed me to ask why I was no longer attending?  Was I sick, did I die, was there a problem with them?  Nope not a peep from them, but they took  my money every month with no problem.  Well last month my 1 year contract was up… 1 year contract right…?

Wrong!

Curves for Women in Lodi CA (independently owned) has a special 1, let me spell it just in case, ONE, UNO, 1 YEAR contract.  It goes beyond the one year, yes they are very special with very special bad business practices.   According to the lady I spoke with on the phone, 30 days before your 1 (One) year contract is up you must give written notice to end your 1 (one) year contract, if you fail to do so they will continue to charge you every month.  Shame on me for not catching this when I joined, but I swear I don’t remember them making sure this clause was crystal clear, and even if I did miss it they would surely send me a reminder that my 1 year membership contract was nearing its end… right?

Wrong!

They don’t send you a reminder, they don’t give you a phone call.  What  they do is… take your money.  They lady on the phone was rude, uncaring and downright unpleasant to deal with.   I explained that I had honored my contract for year even though I had not gone for most of it, I signed a contract I honored it, but she was smug… So I was frustrated, still am so I am venting here..

I hope that other women will be aware of this practice by Curves, I have done a bit of research and this seems to be a HUGE common complaint, with many complaints to consumer affairs and the better business bureau.  If you want to check Curves out before committing you can do a temporary membership, I strongly recommend this.  Each facility is independently owned, so make sure you check out their staff  and business practices.  Make sure they are hands on, do they call if you have missed a few days/weeks, do they send out a reminder near the end of your membership contract, good business practices that let YOU, the consumer, feel valued.  Remember we are paying for a service and if we are not getting what we are paying for then… why are we paying?

Sorry to rant here, but I believe that good people who spend their money should know of bad business practices.  We the consumers must be willing to share good and bad experiences with others.  I do hope that the Curves of Lodi will start better business practices, but until then consumer beware!

Leave a Reply

